The Book Reviews – Website

November 15, 2009

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging

Filed under: A — thebookreviews @ 9:19 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging

Author: Louise Rennison

Page Length: 6      

Reading Level: 247

Genre: Fiction

PLOT SUMMARY: This is a one-year diary account of the thoughts of Georgia Nicolson, a 14 year-old girl from England.  Georgia is the older sister of 3 year-old Libby, best friend of Jaz, and owner of Angus, a mixed breed cat who is very large and mean.

All of Georgia’s thoughts center on how to be a cool, sexy teen and survive the home life with her pet, sibling, and nerdy parents. Georgia relates the feelings she experiences when arriving at a costume party as a stuffed olive, paying Peter for kissing lessons, pretending she is a lesbian, and trying to attract Robbie (the SEX GOD). 

REVIEW: The book is written in a journal form with entries by months, days and hours.  Georgia’s accounts of life are hilarious, yet every teen-age girl can relate in someway to the feelings and experiences she has.  The book includes “Georgia’s Glossary” which defines many of the British/English terms used that Americans will not find familiar. 

TOUCHY AREAS-PAGES: References to lesbians and making out throughout the book but nothing inappropriate for today’s teen-age exposure

AREAS OF TEACHING: Figurative Language, Characters, Point of View, and Sequence of Events

RELATED BOOKS: On the Bright Side, I’m Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God, Knocked Out by My Nung-Nungas, Dancing In My Nuddy Pants, Away Laughing on a Fast Camel, Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers, Startled by His Furry Shorts, Love is a Many Trousered Thing, and Stop in the Name of Pants

MOVIE CONNECTIONS: Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging (2008)

RELATED WEBSITES:

http://www.georgianicolson.com/index.html

REVIEWED BY: Shirley Wagner

2 Comments »

  1. I’m curious which blogging and site-building platform you are running? I’m new
    to operating a blog and have been thinking about using the Live journal platform.
    Do you think this is a good platform to start with?

    I would be really thankful if I could ask you some questions through email so I can learn a
    bit more prior to getting started. When you have some free time, please contact me at: normanmoll@gmail.

    com. Appreciate it

    Comment by brooke hogan\u0027s feet — May 10, 2013 @ 6:30 am | Reply

  2. Hello! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog like yours take a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my
    diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    Comment by the little gym scarsdale — May 22, 2013 @ 10:58 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

